Les nouvelles – 4-8 janvier, 2016

I did some of this on the holiday, and hope to do more. What was your favourite activity? photo credit: flickr user thank you for visiting my page via cc

I did some of this on the holiday, and hope to do more. What was your favourite activity? photo credit: flickr user thank you for visiting my page via cc

I can always be reached at lisa_noble@kprdsb.ca. I’m @nobleknits2 on Twitter, and our class hashtag is #laclasseaqm. We post what we’re learning on Edsby.
I’m Madame Noble, and I teach Core French to students in Grade 5/6-8. I also teach music (vocal and instrumental) to those classes. 
On this blog, you’ll find what we’re doing in class, important dates, permission forms/letters to download and print at home (in case they didn’t make it home in the backpack), the trivia questions the class has been challenged with each week, and some links to websites, music and books you might find interesting.
I’ve chosen to use a blog in the hopes that it will start a conversation – so please feel free to leave a comment or a questions. Let’s keep the lines of communication open.
The big goal in my classroom is being able to communicate in our second language. We do our best to speak only in French, as much as we can, and to use the vocabulary we’re learning (using the AIM approach, where there is a sign-language type action for every word we learn – I sign, and the students speak) to convey our ideas. There’s a list here of the words we start with, and a look over it, to review, or remind your children of how much they know, would be a great idea.
gesture vocab with English
This week in French:
Grade 5/6:  Hope you got to hear about our fabulous holiday dessert – let me know if you want the recipe! This week, we’ll be talking a bit about our goals for the year, and working on starting up the play.
Grade 6:  Check Edsby to see the great cards people created – they now have coding skills! This week, we should be starting new vocabulary based on our play. (also making/eating something yummy for Three Kings day)
Grade 7:  We’ll be taking a look at the games we created on the computer, preparing and eating a treat for 3 Kings day, and talking about our resolutions/goals for this year.
Grade 8:  Wrapping up our Hour of Code activities and starting (hopefully) to look at a new unit on extreme activities.
Music: 8’s have their instruments, 7’s will choose theirs this week; 5/6 and 6 are singing, and learning about how to read music as we sing.
Documents for download: 
Reminder to return your e-mail address, so I can send you the link to the blog. Thanks so much to those of you who have already done that.
intro letter 2015
Coming events:
January 4: back to school!
January 19: grad photos (don’t forget!)
Trivia Questions:
1. Qu’est-ce qui s’est passé avec l’équipe canadien junior de hockey?
2. Comment s’appellent les 3 rois (le 6 janvier est la fête des 3 rois)

Website: There was so much out there to wrap up the end of the year. “Best of” lists abounded. I’ve decided, instead, to look forward. Choosing a word to guide your thinking this year is a popular activity at this time of year for many people. What might your word, or your child’s word be? Here’s how one teacher tackled it. Share your word with us, if you like. Mine is “hear” – as in not just listen, but genuinely hear – my kids, my students, my spouse, my colleagues.

https://mrcssharesease.wordpress.com/one-word-project/

Book: What did you get lost in on the break? I devoured a couple by Kate Morton (The Lake House and The Secret Keeper). My mother-in-law and I both really like her stuff, so I can pass books on, which is one of my favourite things to do.

Professionally, I’m excited about an upcoming book club I’m helping to lead online. Here’s a teaser:

Music: What was your favourite new music that you discovered in 2015? I’m very hooked on Alessia Cara, the very young Canadian making big waves. Big voice, great musical hooks, so much fun. (and we’ve all been to this party)

 

 

Please share in the comments – what are you clicking on, reading and listening to? Let’s build a sharing space here.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

