Les nouvelles – 7-11 décembre, 2015

Question 1. Photo crédit: Flickr user Lisa Gansky via cc

Question 1. Photo crédit: Flickr user Lisa Gansky via cc

I can always be reached at lisa_noble@kprdsb.ca. I’m @nobleknits2 on Twitter, and our class hashtag is #laclasseaqm. We post what we’re learning on Edsby.
I’m Madame Noble, and I teach Core French to students in Grade 5/6-8. I also teach music (vocal and instrumental) to those classes. 
On this blog, you’ll find what we’re doing in class, important dates, permission forms/letters to download and print at home (in case they didn’t make it home in the backpack), the trivia questions the class has been challenged with each week, and some links to websites, music and books you might find interesting.
I’ve chosen to use a blog in the hopes that it will start a conversation – so please feel free to leave a comment or a questions. Let’s keep the lines of communication open.
The big goal in my classroom is being able to communicate in our second language. We do our best to speak only in French, as much as we can, and to use the vocabulary we’re learning (using the AIM approach, where there is a sign-language type action for every word we learn – I sign, and the students speak) to convey our ideas. There’s a list here of the words we start with, and a look over it, to review, or remind your children of how much they know, would be a great idea.
gesture vocab with English
This week in French:

All classes: This week’s main activity is Hour of Code. We will be learning basic computer coding skills to complete activities in French. Grade 5/6 and 6 will be learning about holiday greetings in French (and coding interactive holiday cards – so much fun!) and Grade 7 and 8 will be creating simple games and writing instructions in French. We’ll post as many links as we can – and I’ll have the kids e-mail their creations to you.

Music: Ms Shaw’s class should be getting instruments on Tuesday. 7`s should be looking at pluses and minuses of different instruments and thinking about their choices.  5/6 and 6 will be doing some singing over the next few weeks (in French and English). 
Documents for download: 
Reminder to return your e-mail address, so I can send you the link to the blog. Thanks so much to those of you who have already done that.
intro letter 2015
Coming events:
Food Drive: all week
Friday, December 11: Treats and Treasures sale – all proceeds to Hope for Homes to help Syrian refugees.
December 15: Kinder/Primary choir holiday concert
Trivia Questions:
1. Qu’est-ce qui se passe avec Carey Price?
2. Quelle fête a commencé le 6 décembre cette année (this year)?

Website: Leaving up our Hour of Code link. This is where we’re going to spend a lot of time this week!

Hour of Code

Book: Admitting right now that I’m a big Nick Hornby fan. If you’re not, read no further. I am really enjoying dipping into 10 years in the tub, a series of columns he wrote about what he was reading each month from Sept.2003 onward. If you’re an avid reader, and you like a strong writer’s voice, this is for you!

Music: There’s so much great new music around! There were a couple of super shows in town this past week, including an all-ages show by The Bros Landreth . Peterborough’s Folk Fest is doing an amazing job keeping the music coming all year long.

 

 

 

Please share in the comments – what are you clicking on, reading and listening to? Let’s build a sharing space here.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Les nouvelles – 7-11 décembre, 2015

  1. I have no idea how you find the time to read so much in so little time, Madame Lisa! I’ve just scrambled to finish reading Murder on the Orient Express for my staff book club tonight. My first Agatha Christie has been fun, but makes me wonder how fair it is to any original that, upon re-reading or even discovering after so many others have already discovered and been inspired by the original, that it is hard not to think of the original as almost a cliche? Think of Romeo and Juliet, or Casablanca, … Anyway, Cut (Patricia McCormick), Night Runner (Max Turner – vampires in the Nicholls Ward? who can resist teen horror in one’s own town?!), and This Dark Endeavour: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein (Kenneth Oppel) are all on my bedside table to be read for the spring Pizza & Pages Teen Book Club at Peterborough Public Library. As for right now, Mi and I have put HP and the Philosopher’s Stone on hold for 24 days so that we can try a new Advent book with Ka, To, and KaToMi’s Dad, too.

    The one we are reading this year is called The Advent Calendar by Steven Croft (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11375942-the-advent-calendar); it has quite a different tone (more modern/harsh?) than Jostein Gaarder’s The Christmas Mystery (which we have read two years in a row, by popular request), but we needed something that was a bit more complex for KaToMi’s growing, questioning brains. Like The Christmas Mystery, The Advent Calendar is broken up into chapters to be read daily, which works really well in a world where Advent Calendars seem to have become simply count-downs to Santa’s visit. I’m sticking with it with some reservations because of the reviews – hope it is worth it 😉 If nothing else, perhaps it will spark some good conversations … Ka picked up some foreshadowing and successfully drew a conclusion from a hint that went right over To’s and Mi’s heads, and To suggested that perhaps this story is “a metaphor for their relationship” last night … oh, how they make their English Lit Major parents proud 😉 They may end up as poor, poetry-loving parents some day, just like us!

    We’ve always loved The Best/Worst Christmas Pageant Ever, but it has fewer than 24 chapters and besides, we need a few years in between to forget and rediscover the Herdmans’ lessons to us all (the Herman Wise Guys’ gift of ham always makes me cry!). I’d love to know what other Advent & Christmas books are worth looking at for future possible seasonal read-alouds with the family!

    • Thanks, as ever, for making this a conversation. Interesting lens on your first read of a Christie. I remember high school summers devouring those at the lake (for the record, always Marple over Poirot). Not sure that I agree, though. I like to think that every reader brings their own unique journey to the read, so that may work against the preconceptions. Watched Casablanca with J this year, and he loved it (but he didn’t necessarily have all the preconceptions).

      In terms of holiday reads – Best Christmas Pageant is always there. I had the chance to do it as a school play years ago – it was our holiday concert, and we got to do it in the church across the road from the school. It was a good match for the Dutch Reform/Polish Catholic community I was teaching in, and is still one of my best teaching memories ever.

      Others:Forsyth’s The Shepherd, read by Fireside Al on Christmas Eve, but the book is worth the read-aloud; and the Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey, which is a picture book, but has enough text that it can be stretched out over time.

  2. Thanks for the suggestions, Madame!

    So, if I am to try one Marple, which one should it be? There are so very many to choose from. Oh, and I guess Murder on the Orient Express isn’t my very first Christie – I’ve seen a few of the film adaptations on PBS. Nothing will compare to the experience of seeing “The Mousetrap” on stage in London, England when I was 10: darkened stage, a disembodied whistle, a scream and the sound of running feet – Three Blind Mice has never sounded the same to me since!

    I will think some more on the reader’s experience and whether the original might pale in comparison to more modern, more colourful (literal and figurative) retellings …

    • I love your memories of The Mousetrap. Wow, I think I’m actually kind of jealous!

      My favourite Marple is probably Murder at the Vicarage (which I read long before I married a vicar – probably wouldn’t like it as much now!). As I age, I find myself reverting to “cozy” style mysteries from the more hard-boiled. The world is hard enough at times, and a cup of tea and a cozy are sometimes just what i need.

  3. To continue the conversation, so far, The Advent Calendar by Steven Croft is the right fit for K, perhaps too mature for T, and definitely beyond M. We are shelving it for this year (though K wants to read it on her own), and we will try again next Advent. So, now I need to find some short stories or picture books or something for the next 11 days – will look to see if your suggestions are still at PPL (the Christmas books have been out since Remembrance Day, so there might be slim pickings …).

    We’re/I’m trying to “have the Christmas I’m having,” but that in itself is proving to be challenging …

  4. Let me know. I can lend you the one if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

