Les nouvelles – 3 à 7 novembre,2014

2013-10-31 18.32.10

I can be reached at lisa_noble@kprdsb.ca. I’m @nobleknits2 on Twitter, and our class hashtag is #laclasseaqm.

 Welcome to another year at QM! I’m Madame Noble, and I will be teaching Core French to students in Grade 5-8.

The big goal in my classroom is being able to communicate in our second language. We do our best to speak only in French, as much as we can, and to use the vocabulary we’re learning (using the AIM approach, where there is a sign-language type action for every word we learn – I sign, and the students speak) to convey our ideas. There’s a list here of the words we start with, and a look over it, to review, or remind your children of how much they know, would be a great idea.

Gesture vocab with english 

In all classes, 10 minutes or so each day of reviewing  vocabulary at home  is very helpful. Let your kids teach you what they’re learning!

Class Updates:

Grade 5: Vocabulary building. See how many opposites your child can come up with (sur/sous, devant/derrière, enlève/met, etc.)

Grade 5/6: We worked a bunch on family vocabulary this week, so you can ask your child to describe who’s in your family. We’ll continue that in the week to come.

Grade 6: We did our first run through the story. Be sure to ask about the action for “génie”, which will make those of you of a certain age laugh, for sure!

6/7, 7/8, 8: 7/8 and 8 are done presenting their Pinterest boards. They were incredibly brave, and worked really hard at asking and answering each other’s questions. We’ll be doing some work this week on question structures as a follow-up, as that part of the task was tricky for some students.

Our success criteria for the task is here

A1 wheel

A2 wheel

Documents for download:

intro letter 2014

band letter 2014

Band news: There will NOT be band practice on Wednesday morning this week, as I am away. Several students have signed out instruments and music – those MUST be in the building for band practice. We are booked for Wonderland on June 4 (put that date on your calendar!), and I will need parents to accompany us on that date. Cost is approximately $60 ($30 if you have a season’s pass)

Important dates:

November 5-7: I am away, presenting and learning at a technology conference. Lots to share when I come back!

November 7: Picture retakes!

November 28: PA Day

Trivia  Questions

1. Qu’est-ce qui se passe à Burkina Faso?

2. Qui est le président de la France, et où est-il cette semaine (this week)?

Website: Our Pinterest boards, ready to be shown off. Ask lots of questions! 

Books: I’m raving to anyone who’ll listen about YA author Scott Westerfeld’s newest. Paranormal romance isn’t usually my thing at all, but this one is a story within a story. The paranormal romance takes place in a new novel written by a young East Indian woman, and afterworlds tells both stories (the romance and the new author’s experiences) in alternate chapters. Really enjoying it so far.

Music: Thought this was a lovely example of a way in which technology can unite us, that we really couldn’t accomplish without it. It’s called Signal Strength.

Please share in the comments – what are you clicking on, reading and listening to? Let’s build a sharing space here.

8 thoughts on “Les nouvelles – 3 à 7 novembre,2014

  1. Hi and thanks for this great and informative newsletter!
    I’m reading The Number One Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall-Smith. This type of writing is out of my usual Canadian women’s fiction reading zone – am finding it well written, interesting re: how the main character solves the mysteries and delightfully funny. Music wise, I’m re-listening to Jennifer Warne’s “Famous Blue Raincoat” album – my son, Steffen and I discussing/analyzing the production techniques. fun!

    • Famous Blue is such an amazing album, and a great one for thinking about production techniques. So atmospheric. I’m a fan of a different McCall-Smith series about a philosopher living in Edinburgh. Lots of deep problems to wrestle with, in a fun, thought-provoking way.

  2. I’ve been emersed in war-torn France for the past week as I’m reading All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, and listening to The Girl You Left Behind (on audiobook while driving from here to there) by Jojo Moyes. It’s just a coincidence that I decided to read/listen to them at the same time, but they really complement each other in terms of their imagery, characterization and the fact that they deal with questions about being active vs. passive. That all sounds very academic – just wanted to say that they are both really good stories, too.

    • Thanks, Karen:

      I got partway through “All the Light” this summer, and then it had to go back to the library – I will go back to it. I really enjoyed the language, and parallel stories in it. I know what you mean about active vs passive. Thanks so much for sharing what you’re reading.

      • I finished “All the Light We Cannot See” and “The Girl You Left Behind” last week; I’m trying not to mourn the loss too much – so easy when the book is as good as “All the Light …” “The Girl You Left …” was a great read, but “All the Light We Cannot See” was, well, kinda epic in a beautifully sad sort of way, for lack of better words to describe the experience.

        Now, I’m trying to get into the next book club book “Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail” by Cheryl Strayed – such a change to fast-forward to a modern tale that’s (so far, anyway), pretty self-centred and self-destructive. Oh well, I’m balancing it out with my favourite guilty pleasure: reading a YA novel 🙂 “Blue Lily, Lily Blue”, the third in the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Steifvater.

  3. So…with the Stiefvater – do my kids need to read this series? And let me know what you think about Wild – I kept wanting to chuck her, and the book, out the window. As an avid outdoors person, the fact that she chose to self-destruct in an incredibly dangerous way (I think that’s what she was trying to do) scared the heck out of me, because I worried about other people deciding to do it, too. I’m glad I stuck it out ’til the end, but it was a tough one for me.

  4. Karen Prowse Clysdale

    I really like the Raven Cycle as a YA title because it balances the fantasy part (ley lines, psychics, people who can pull things – good and bad – out of their dreams, wanting to find and wake an ancient sleeping Welsh king) with teen angst (complicated love triangles between underprivileged girl and boy meet overly privileged boys attending local prep school), then twists it all together with girl who’s living with a curse that if she kisses her true love, he’ll die and some other important predictions made by her psychic mother and friends). I know the boys would like the fantasy part; I’m not sure what they would think of the love stuff. The other thing is that the series deals up some pretty sophisticated situations, like one of the boys is physically abused by his dad to the point of permanent hearing loss, the dramatic differences between those who have and those who do not, and (possibly – not sure if I’m right yet) some unrequited homosexual desire. I’m not ready to recommend it to my 11 year old yet, even though she thinks she’s old enough to read and completely “get” the Hunger Games series.

    That was the long answer. My short answer: you should probably read it first to see what you think?

    PS – is there a way for me to monitor this discussion thread without having to page back through all the previous weeks’ posts? just curious! The “Notify me of new comments via email” isn’t clickable to me?

    • Karen – I will work on the notify thing – maybe I don’t have it set up or something – cause that would certainly make life easier. 🙂 Thanks for heads-up on the Stiefvater – it is on my own list. I might let the 13, pushing 14-year old have a look, and see what he thinks. I love the fantasy part, but M, in particular, doesn’t so much like the realism bit. I’ve been surprised to see him diving into both iterations of the 7 series, ’cause realistic fiction isn’t really his thing.

Leave a Reply

